Governor’s Office



Tribal sovereignty enables the right for the Pueblo to govern itself as a federally recognized tribe. Santa Clara Pueblo operates under a tribal constitution which allows for the annual elections of the offices of the Governor, Lt. Governor, Tribal Sheriff, Tribal Treasurer, Tribal Secretary and Tribal Interpreter.

The elected officials are concerned with the civil and business issues within the Pueblo and the relations with the non-Pueblo communities, to include working relationships with federal, state, and local agencies.

In addition, the Governor and Lt. Governor have oversight of all tribal programs and employees and operations, such as tribal courts, gaming, utilities, and tribal taxes and directly supervises the tribal administrators.



Governor’s Office Executive Secretary, Jessica Naranjo
Office Number: 505-753-7330
Email Address:
Office Hours: M-F, 8:00 am to 4:30 pm
Mailing Address: PO Box 580, Espanola, NM 87532
Street Address: 578 Kee Street, Espanola, NM 87532


2024 Elected Officials

Governor J. Michael Chavarria

Lt. Governor Charles Matthew Sisneros

Tribal Sheriff Donald Suazo

Tribal Treasurer Kathleen Gutierrez-Naranjo

Tribal Interpreter George Gutierrez

Tribal Secretary Madeline Naranjo