Fire Department

  1. Home
  2. Programs
  3. Public Safety
  4. Fire Department

About the


The Santa Clara Pueblo Fire Department was established in 1997 by the Tribal Council and quickly expanded from a single donated surplus fire brush truck from to a new Class A fire truck that the BIA provided, a donated water tender from Los Alamos Fire Department, A donated ambulance from Albuquerque Fire Rescue, and a donated brush truck from  BIA surplus.  The department had another major change years later to a new fire station and several new trucks and equipment. The department has a new class A structure engine expected by the end of 2023 along with a new brush truck that is being built.  The department has a current roster of 17 as of October 2023.

The fire station also expanded from a old warehouse in the village that was recently removed next to the church to the 6 bay station where we now call home.



For emergency assistance call Santa Clara Pueblo dispatch at 505-692-6290 or 9-1-1.

The Santa Clara Fire Station is located on NM Highway 30 across the Santa Clara Health clinic at 200 Wagon Road.



Mel Tafoya has been serving as fire chief since 1997,  Daniel Tafoya serves as Assistant Chief which replaced Richard Martinez who stepped aside two years ago, Lisa La Pointe-Tafoya serves as Captain for 9 years,  John Lopez and Rosita Dasheno are out latest newly elected lieutenants.  The department started as red carded wildland firefighters to structure trained. The majority of the department has New Mexico certified medical responders from 1st Responder to EMT Intermediates.